Diary

WHERE DID 2021 GO?

I asked myself the same question after I read my inspiring blog post from January 2021. Gosh! I was so pumped. Where did all that fire go you may ask? (my village people are definitely getting blamed for this one).  

I could have sworn in January 2021 that by December 2021, I would blow, win loads of awards, sit on various panels, get a feature on Forbes 25 under 25, go on that Tanzania vacation, and live the baby girl life. I was this close I swear, maybe if I got my lazy ass off my bed, you all would be booking appointments to see me in my Mauritius penthouse. 

Enough with the sob story, I’ve missed this space, I’ve been alive and well, life did not happen to me like that. Let’s just say your girl was a lazy perfectionistic procrastinator ( I hope we can find this on google). 

January/February started on a good note. I still have seven blog posts in my draft, so you see, I was serious at a point. 

March came and everything spiraled so fast, school resumed lots of catching up with lecturers, projects, the usual Nigerian final year wahala. Running this rat race from March till October. I had time, I just never thought to post anything, there was never a right time (always my yeye excuse). Some would say writer’s block, I agree to an extent. However, I know myself. 

Anyways, I finally finished University in October 2021, after spending 6 years inside Unilag. No, I didn’t study medicine or anything close. 

Your baby girl is finally a graduate of the prestigious University of Lagos, Nigeria, the University of first choice, the pride of the nation (extra shoulder pads). One of my many wishes as a naive 16-year-old, almost died when I didn’t get in the first time. Jamb na your mate!

Project defense outfit inspiration
Jacket off
Sign-out shirt inspiration. Feel free to steal the caption

Convocation is this month, you’re all invited (an excuse to do a photoshoot). This Psychology degree is for all of us.

Let’s wrap this up, 2021 was an ok year for me, got to meet pretty amazing humans, explore my adventurous side (highlights coming soon). I know deep in my heart that if I tried, just a bit, I would have blown.

Maybe we’ll finally make that Forbes 25 under 25 this year. You don’t think so? Ok, let’s do 30 under 30 then. Oh! and my vacation location has changed too, this time, I’m going to see the Aurora Borealis, then chill with the big boys in Las Vegas. 

See you in the northern lights!

Best in disappearing, 

J.D

2 thoughts on “WHERE DID 2021 GO?”

  1. Awww..this was so short and interesting. Didn’t want it to end.
    2021 was like this for a lot of us. Some of us were just trying to survive but in the end we give God the glory.
    We’re definitely smashing and exceeding our 2022 goals.✌

    Like

Leave a comment